And Now for Something Totally Different…

It’s Friday, and I wrote a short article for a change.  This seems like a good time to catch up on reading and hunt for new and interesting blogs.  This turned out to be a surprising evening.

I found an article so fascinating that I re-blogged for the first time.  It was my previous post, but it was so exceptional that I’m providing the link again: Prehistoric Wisdom.

I eventually wandered into grandfathersky’s blog and read Give Me a Reason.  It is an easy and interesting read, but it he ends with a poignant question: “What is there in our hearts and minds that we have forgotten?

I finally made my way to Katrina’s blog and read Never Settle.  Now, Katrina starts off sounding quite philosophical, but she suddenly goes to a place that I did not expect:

I’m feeling rather hopeful today.  It’s Friday, the weekend is upon us, so I’m writing a message of hope and possibility.  I’m not in the mood to be philosophical or even deep. Instead I’m feeling we all need fun, laughter and music.  To lighten up and just let ourselves be happy.  I’m sure by Monday, I’ll be back into my usual Spiritual Guru mode.  But for now, I hope you all have a great weekend.

She then embedded a fun Credence Clearwater Revival tune.  You really should check it out.  I was listening to it, tapping my foot, and realized that Katrina forgot dancing!  Dancing really rounds out “fun, laughter, and music.”

Grandfathersky wonders what we have forgotten.  Perhaps we are so busy pondering the problems of our times that we forget the simple things we need as human beings to maintain our health and sanity; a good weekend of fun, laughter, music and dancing.  It must be therapeutic!  Old Jules over at So Far from Heaven was posting quite a bit of music for awhile, and he has a down to earth kind of humor and wisdom.

I called up a playlist that I have hidden on an old MySpace account and waxed nostalgic.  In the process, I ran across an old rock tune with a bouncy rhythm and blues feel that is sort of contrasted by the lyrics, but it is still fun.  In the spirit of Katrina’s blog, here it is and I hope y’all enjoy it:

This one’s for Katrina!  😉

4 thoughts on “And Now for Something Totally Different…

  1. Thanks for the plug, I did forget dancing, I think because my spousal equivalent and I are older and becoming a little arthritic, its a joke around the house that at least we can still walk…:-) in my youth, I danced all the time, you have given me an idea for a great blog outlining not forgotten things, but things we let slip from our daily lives because of time, energy and body changes. Great blog by the way. I love Grandfathersky.

  2. My spouse and I don’t go dancing much these days, either. Here, I think it is that by the end of the day we are feeling a bit exhausted. I look forward to reading that blog once you have it written. Blessed be.

What do you think?

