An Apology

I am compelled by my conscience to apologize to the few people who read my blog. I have been engaged in the study of Kabbalah for the last month or so. You may wonder what connection this has with an apology, or (at least) I hope you do, so I may offer an explanation.

Kabbalah is actually a fascinating subject, even from a Pagan perspective. In the short time I have been engaged in this study, I have found even more reason to believe that there is little difference between the numerous faiths. These findings cannot be considered conclusive because I have found a reason to abandoned these studies prematurely, though. Anyone doubting what I am about to tell you is welcome to test these things for themselves at the Bnei Baruch Education Center. A free introductory course is offered at regular (academic) intervals.

The primary consideration you should keep in mind if you choose to investigate the discipline of Kabbalah is that the Kabbalist sage probably has no knowledge of anything else; it is a lifelong study. They claim it is not mysticism, but they will tell you that Kabbalah has been hidden until Messianic times (now) when it is appropriate for the hidden worlds to be revealed. If you do not find this odd, check out the definition of occult, as well as the definition of mysticism. However, this is not a justifiable cause to abandon Kabbalah; it is more likely a simple symptom of single-minded focus. Nevertheless, Kabbalah presents some eye-opening concepts.

Kabbalah is not a religion, but it appears to be the seed of a religion; Judaism. While Kabbalists deny religion, there is much discussion concerning the Torah. Judaism appears to be a much later development of Kabbalah. Perhaps one of the most redeeming aspects of Kabbalah is that it offers a reasonable answer to the question about where the people of Nod came from in Genesis. The downside is that the explanation makes the average Christian look absolutely ignorant. That is obviously not cause to abandon the study of Kabbalah, either.

My particular problem with Kabbalah can be found in the historical derivatives; if Kabbalah spawned Judaism, and Judaism spawned Christianity (which it did), then what went wrong? My problem with Kabbalah is that it answers this question with the utmost simplicity, but in the process Christ becomes so much more realistic, as does God, the Father. The question most likely to cross the average Christian mind at this point is, “So what’s your f—cking problem then?

The problem is that the common “Christian” mentality (specifically in the U.S.) diminishes the dignity of Christ; they have no real idea of what He spoke of. Following this path to its most obvious conclusion leads to a very dark place. This has reminded me of why I abandoned the so-called “Christian” religion many years ago. While there are exceptions, the average American Christian is a flaming fool. After writing “The Vision,” I realized that I was coming back to a very dark path once again; one that I cannot accept; one that I left many years ago for this very reason. Knowledge of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit should carry awe, wonder, joy and peace. Awe, wonder, joy and peace are things that I only experience following the Pagan path, though. The Pagan way is not so polluted.

Kabbalah teaches that the difference in spirit is a measure of quality, not a physical distance measured in inches, feet, meters or any measure of quantity. Therefore, it only stands to reason that the quantity of members of American Christendom is not a measure of quality. In fact, attempts to break the Law of the Land, particularly the First Amendment, is criminal and disgraceful. Harassment and physical violence towards people who do not subscribe to the same beliefs is not only discriminatory and illegal, but it is also disgraces Christ. It is odd that alleged Christians are ignorant of this simple fact.

Perhaps I will expand upon this in the days to come, but maybe not. I need to ground and center for awhile. I do not equate Kabbalah with Christianity. Kabbalah has been very enlightening in a very short time, but there is far too much indirect connection to Christianity for me at this time. If I was to return to Christianity, I would be more concerned with discovering Christ’s new name, rather than with other people’s “sins.”

Blessed be.

21 thoughts on “An Apology

  1. Very brave Steve. I am a firm believer in relationship as opposed to religion. I believe that knowledge of Christ and the resulting relationship is a personal one, and I do not compare mine to modern Christians or church goers, or any other doctrine or religion, although I think of myself as ‘Christian’ for lack of a better term. I fancy ‘The New Jerusalem’ as an acceptable term for my personal beliefs. And I am VERY interested to know Christ’s ‘new name’. Indeed he has many….I have discovered more than one new name for Him.. I do hope you expand upon the ways that the Kabbalah has indirect connections to Christianity….I am intrigued. But I do agree with you that people are generally ignorant about the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and about Christ and his ways, especially when they try to do his job or be some sort of ambassador for him based out of an ancient knowledge they cant understand…and they cant understand because they have not brought it up to the present times….Christ is real and for today just as much if not more than he was 2,000 years ago. When I imagine things on a grand scale in my mind, it always comes back to this….that ‘we have forgotten our first love’~Revelations~ and I so desire a fresh outpouring or awakening of the Spirits and hearts of the people. We live in denial, and anything denied cannot come into the light, and his word does not return void, and this I know with certainty through personal tribulation, experience, and outright miracles that I have been blessed to witness….. and witness I have. I may be able to speak of them one day, although I try to convey them in a ‘parable’ sort of way. 🙂
    Very interesting read, Steve, and I applaud your honest and heartfelt thoughts.
    with much love
    Celeste

  2. Steve, I totally understand your feelings. There is no need for apology. I have studied numerous faiths, spiritual principles and pseudo religions. I believe I can help you with your questions. My blog today will be the “Man’s Desire for A God” However, I do suggest you wait a few days before reading it. Because you are obviously at a very sensitive place in your spiritual journey.

  3. Insightful & well-written, Steve. Kabbalah has deepened/broadened my understanding of spirituality beyond anything else I’ve explored and I, too, find that modern Christianity has wandered so far from its Light that there’s hardly any connection. Through Kabbalah we realize that Christ is not a person, but that state of Divine Grace wherein we love and understand all, effortlessly, by internalizing, absorbing, becoming, and radiating the Light of Ein Sof, the Source, the Origin, the “Alpha and Omega”. Christ-consciousness. The true potential of humans as spiritual beings and not merely upright animals. The Christ in the New Testament is a personification of this principle, in my opinion. Blessings to you on your path… this is some Soul-shaking knowledge you’re sharing!

  4. One of my greatest concerns when writing about things like this is that any reader not assume that everyone in a group (like Christians) are the same. That is not conducive to fostering understanding. I certainly do not wish to do an injustice to good people like yourself either. Unfortunately, this experience has taken me back to a dark place that I cannot accept or shoulder. I do admire people like yourself that seek to infuse new spirit into Christianity; I believe it is a worthwhile cause, but it is not my path. Perhaps given some time to rejuvenate and recenter in my own path, I might be able to share more. Blessed be.

  5. Kabbalah is very deep and rich. I would probably stay with it, but it causes me to drift back to my Christian past, which draws my attention to what I see in current Christian behavior. I need to live more positively, and I cannot do that and watch a train wreck. Recognizing this as simply a personal thing, I will not hesitate to highly recommend Kabbalah to anyone interested in it. Peace to you.

  6. I do hope that you find the rejuvenation that you desire and deserve. And I do wish that I could relay to you what I have seen and heard too, for it is something I know for sure that has not been heard by ear, nor spoken in the worldly tongue before; indeed it is an unknown tongue and a hidden truth…but did he not pray that it would be ‘hidden’, and given to the faith of little children (which I believe can be reclaimed as adults)
    I do not like to hear that you, my friend, are in this dark place. I also believe there is a reason for all things, and a solution for those who want it and seek it out, through ones OWN voice and understanding. We are given everything we need from the beginning, this I know, and I hope that you find your place of peace, grounding yourself in the light, as you so desire Steve. We all come to dark places at some point for one reason or another, and of course i have no doubt that you will see yourself where you want to be, and find yourself in it at last.
    I hope you don’t think I am speaking out of turn, or giving unsolicited advise: I know you are intelligent, and would never insult your intelligence deliberately. And I want you to know I took no offense at all to what you wrote….I do understand. 🙂
    Sending you warmth and peace and healing energy,
    Celeste

  7. I took nothing you said as offensive. I suspect the problem is that Kabbalah simply isn’t my path, although it is very fascinating. Sometimes we end up in a dark place when we inadvertently stray from our intended path. I’m appreciate your thoughts greatly.

  8. I’ve done a great deal of spiritual exploring in my life and have a deep appreciation for others who are finding their own path in whatever way speaks to them, but the words you used to describe yourself in your profile, “About Steve Tanner” are, for me, the perfect description of a spiritual life path and mirror my own.

    I appreciate your thoughts on Kabbalah.

  9. Steve, I appreciate this introduction, I read some of this teaching on the internet. I am currently studying Buddhism. I have found that it has a lot of principles that I have already started to develop in my life (living the in the present, patience, compassion, peace making, etc). It also reminds me a lot of Jesus’ teachings. They have a lot in common.

  10. What little familiarity I have with Buddhism suggests that it may have much in common with Kabbalah. Mindfulness meditation plays an important role in my life. I am more firm in my belief that religions are simply different languages used to explain spirituality.

  11. In kabbalah http://www.laitman.com, we talk about the One and only God. However in order for the One God to have the soul experience HIM, he divides or somewhat conceals Himself so that the soul can grasp HIS attribute,qualities,and nature. So the God is One, but we sense God through varying degrees or apallations.

    The Essense of the Creator cannot be grasped by man, however the Light of Wisdom emmanating from his Essence can be felt. Also the Light of understanding is another specific Light emmanating from the Essense. So the connection with Christianity is that the:

    Essence or Father sends his only begotten son or the Light of Wisdom with the Holy Spirit or the Light of understanding.

    Father = Essence
    Son= Light of Wisdom
    Spirit= Light of Wisdom

    Therefore the Messiah is the Word or Light of Wisdom incarnate into a person who brings the Light of Understanding to the people.

    In the old testament especially in proverbs we see that God created wisdom before anything else and through wisdom all of creation was created. So God has created with wisdom and redeems humanity with wisdom. So wisdom is a living spirit the only begotten offspring of the Essence (Father) The Holy Spirit came down into a man, but through the sacrifice of that incarnation humanity has a role model to follow and came recieve the Holy spirit through emulation and demanding this divine nature to replace our earthly nature.

    Really what is the difference between asking God to give your heart to Christ or Kabbalistically asking the Creator to give your the Light of Wisdom and Understanding.

    They call it, asking the Creator for the Light that reforms. Same thing, in my opinion. God looks at what your heart is asking, the terms or not as important as your true hearts desire

    Anyways I am not saying any of this is right true or even correct. Just putting out there what I got out od the whole Kabbalah Christianity connection.

    Love ya all anmd peace be with you on your journeys.

  12. In the fifth paragraph I wrote, “…in the process Christ becomes so much more realistic, as does God, the Father.” Kabbalah only enlightens one about the teachings of Jesus, which makes Him much more real (as opposed to fictional.) I do not appear to have been clear about what I am apologizing for, so I will try to clarify this.

    The line of connection from Kabbalah through Judaism to Christianity is shown in the teachings of Jesus; His teachings reflect Kabbalist principles, and I find beautiful harmony in this. The problem is that the line of connection proceeds one step further to the alleged Christian religion as it manifests itself today (specifically in the U.S. because this is what I am familiar with.) Kabbalah has only strengthened the appearance that many of the adherents to this type of “Christianity” are clueless. Referencing your statement, “…the Messiah is the Word or Light of Wisdom incarnate into a person who brings the Light of Understanding to the people” raises the question: Why do they not understand? The answer appears to lie within another one of your statements: “the terms or[are] not as important as your true hearts desire.” Perhaps their true hearts desire is not for the Light of Understanding?

    I actually have no direct issue with Kabbalah. My particular problem with Kabbalah is that my attention keeps being drawn down the “line of connection” to these pseudo-Christians. Their actions (past and present) anger me more because of Kabbalist principles. That is why I made remarks like “the average Christian look absolutely ignorant” and “the common “Christian” mentality (specifically in the U.S.) diminishes the dignity of Christ” and “they have no real idea of what He spoke of.” These are harsh remarks born out of growing anger. I have been trying to create a bridge of understanding, and such anger is contrary to that purpose.

    If I could study Kabbalah and NOT have my attention drawn down this path, then there would be no need to apologize. This is a personal issue that should not be taken as a reflection upon Kabbalist teachings, which I recommend highly. I would continue studying Kabbalah if I could break that indirect connection to modern Christianity. However, the rising anger is something I cannot allow to overwhelm me. The anger will not subside as long as my attention is continually drawn to this dark practice in the U.S. today called “Christianity.” It is for this specifically personal issue only that I have discontinued studying Kabbalah.

    I was apologizing because I saw that I was departing from my original purpose of trying to create a bridge of understanding between different beliefs. I was apologizing because I could see my anger seeping into my writing. However, I have since come to realize that anger is an appropriate reaction to injustice, and these pseudo-Christians do engage in some very despicable activities.

    My apology perhaps should now be for abandoning my original purpose. Such people do not desire understanding; they desire power. I must trust in their God to teach them the lessons they deserve. While my original post may not have been clear, it doesn’t seem to have been that misleading either.

  13. Ya I understand your feelings Steve. Follow the path that brings you peace and follow the spirit. I think that you are a very open minded person and I respect your thoughts very much. I think that you made your point very clear and it was very respectful to all other views.

    My reply actually was too celestealluvial because she said she was intrigued about the connection between kabbalah and Christianity. I would rather say the connection between kabbalah and jesus’ teachings instead. I pressed reply under her posting but it was probably not clear who or why I was posting my previous reply. I should of wrote who I was talking to

  14. Then allow me to apologize to you. I simply responded to your comment as I received it in an e-mail notification. Now that I check the comment section of that post, I can now see that was what you were doing. Had I checked before responding, I probably would have missed that because the comments are lengthy. Nevertheless, I obviously overreacted. I beg your forgiveness. Blessed be.

  15. No problem Steve, I should have specified who I was talking to or qouted what I was responding to. My posting takes on a whole new intention and direction if it was a direct response to your original posting. LOL So I completely understand your response.

    I completely understand alot of your emotions that you say you feel on the subjet as I too have some of these emotions in common with you about this very same subject.

    Blessings and peace to you too =)

What do you think?

