Wisdom Teachings

Cynthia Bourgealt may be a sign of the resurrection of Christian spirituality that I suggested in A Point of Balance. Her ten minute podcast, “The Wisdom Teachings of Jesus: Beyond Belief and Into Practice,“ found at Sounds True is refreshing. Ms. Bourgealt discusses aspects of religious doctrine and spiritual principles in a manner much like a Pagan, except that her focus is upon Jesus.

I am certain that Ms. Bourgealt’s ideas will not be well received by the pseudo-Christians because of their hateful proclivities, but it seems the time for separating the grain from the chaff is long overdue. Of course, I did not purchase any of Ms. Bourgealt’s work because I am not a “Christian” now, but the foundational principles provided in this short podcast sound promising. Personally,I would love to see the spirit of Christ resurrected within Christianity, despite having been directed down a different path.

This is a short post because I simply want to bring this to the attention of Christians with a true heart and wary Pagans. I do not know if the direct link to the podcast will work because I am a member of Sounds True. Otherwise, any interested person should be able to find it by clicking on the link to Sounds True and looking around. Here is a link to their Weekly Wisdom (see: Producer’s Pick) which might also help if the other links don’t work as I would expect.

Blessed be!

6 thoughts on “Wisdom Teachings

  1. I’ve said before that I could still be a Christian if that didn’t mean having to be a Churchian too. I’m a fan of Carl McColman’s writings for that same reason. He’s also quietly suggesting a return to Christian Mysticism, which is something I could probably support, in theory. I’ll have to check this one out. Thanks 🙂

  2. I couldn’t return to Christianity, at least not in any form that I have seen. However, I Know of no way to not like Jesus. He healed the sick, raised the dead, fed the masses, spoke words of hope, walked on water, and turned water into wine. What’s not to like? 😉

  3. what about hate your father and mother? he also said some pretty wierd stuff too.

  4. Oh and you could smile in your picture it would not hurt. .. have a great day. :}

  5. Luke 14:26 NASB – “If anyone comes to Me, and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be My disciple.” You cannot understand “hate his own father and mother” properly if you take it out of context of the complete statement. If you cannot see the corruption/imperfection of this world (even in the things you hold most dear… including yourself) then you cannot be a disciple of the speaker (Jesus) because your perception of reality is colored by your emotional attachments. It is easy to accuse anyone of saying “some pretty weird stuff” when you take a phrase out of the context of what any speaker says. This is a common practice among politicians in an election year. Are you a politician?

What do you think?

