Confronting Destiny

Awareness is a state of realization. I slept until a very young age, then I awakened. I do not recall my physical birth because I was not aware, at least not of this physical reality; I was still sleeping. From all that I have learned about birth and labor, I think this is a good thing. I actually awoke much later.

Cogito ergo sum (René Descartes).

“I think, therefore I am,” wrote Descartes. It seems silly that some refute Descartes proposition. If you are not aware of yourself (including your doubts), or the world around you, can you truly be alive in this plane of existence… as a human being? I qualify this statement with “as a human being” in respect to animism.

My perception of animism is that the universe is a divine creation. As such, the essence of the divine exists within all things. This is not unlike the Tao, Chi, Awen, etc. It isn’t even unlike the Judeo-Christian concept of a divine creation

The primary difference between a rock and a human being seems to concern the intensity of the divine essence within the subject, or its rate of vibration. This appears to even carry over into Kaballah where the gross physical plane of existence is of a much lower vibration than that of the subtle and refined plane of Spirit or God. For this reason, spiritual planes seem to be consistently considered “higher” across numerous spiritual beliefs; not because they are physically higher, but because they are are of a higher vibration or intensity. The idea of Spirit or God being physically elevated above us appears to be the aberration of a mind rooted in the material (gross) world.

By the sweat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return (Genesis 3:19 NIV).

Where did you come from, and where are you going? Were you once like a rock, or the dust of a rock, whose awareness was raised to that of a human being, but is destined to return to the awareness of dust? In Judeo-Christian lore, while man was formed from the dust of the earth, it was the breath of the divine that animated him. Were you once spirit whose awareness was lowered to that of a human being, but is destined to return to the awareness of spirit?

Most people cannot answer these questions. They lack awareness, or they simply fear looking into this “dark” place; the instinct for survival predisposes most towards fear. This fear can also make them susceptible to charlatans. However, if you look at where you came from, you must wonder why people fear where they are going.

When I look back to before my awakening in this realm, all I can recall is restful peace and quiet; soothing serenity. The more I look at where I came from, the more I wonder why I should fear the return. Perhaps it is different for each individual. Nevertheless, confronting death can produce an interesting side-effect: the less you fear death, the greater your capacity for living.

10 thoughts on “Confronting Destiny

  1. A good sharing. Death as something real, whether seeing another dying or being faced with my own near death experiences have been enlivening for me, even if some experiences have left me shocked. Cuts through the bull shit-every day distractions–, or even the heavier, the elephant shit–philosophical interpretations, to the immediacy of existence. Death will be the ultimate letting go, hopefully mine will have more peace or even excitement than fear.

  2. You have reminded me of an incident a few years ago. I was working second shift, and some of us would show up a little early and go to the break room to have a cup of coffee before the actual start of the shift. There was usually conversation associated with this minor ritual, of course. One day, everything seemed normal except that someone got into an argument about something. In the midst of that argument and other chatter, someone entered the room to announce that a co-worker of ours had been killed that morning in a farm accident. The room fell silent with the shock of this news. Conversations did not resume, not even the argument. “Cuts through the bull shit-every day distractions” seems like an understatement when I think back on this incident.

  3. Death, Shadow, Awakening, Light… wonderful post, Steve! So many of my most profound memories are closely associated with some sort of trauma, loss, death. Light & Dark coexist, whether or not we wish them to do so. This is an essential theme in my novel, Crazy Annie & the Shadow Dance. Thank you for this Bread of Wisdom!

  4. Great post! Death is the ultimate experience… and the ultimate mystery of our existence. To think about death is a scary thing.. until I realize that it is simply a transition to the other side… whatever that might be.

  5. It does seem that death provides us with the most profound realizations of life. It makes us stop and think about what is truly worthwhile, but then most of us get busy again and forget because we really do not want to confront the inevitable. I am speaking generally here, not about you or anyone in particular. Nevertheless, you have piqued my curiosity about Crazy Annie & the Shadow Dance.

  6. I’m not certain death is an “ultimate” experience, although it may be. I think the fear of death makes many of us do things to avoid confronting its reality, like seeking the euphoria of substance abuse or mesmerizing themselves with video games. What capacity for living might be found if we spend less time fearing and running from death? Would the things we currently do to distract ourselves be as interesting? If this was accomplished, might we discover life to be an “ultimate” experience? I speak theoretically of course! 😉

  7. We’ve gotten so good at not facing mortality that when someone does bring the subject up, it shocks and even offends us. It’s almost like we’re ashamed to admit that we’re mortal. I think, therefore I am. I am, therefore I will die. The two statements should be linked, but they aren’t.

  8. Yes, they should be linked. Part of the issue is a failure to recognize our awareness as something separate from our physical container. Medical science claims that cells die and are replaced in our body everyday to the degree that we have completely new bodies every seven years. I read a statement made by a Hindu yogi in my youth (so I cannot recall his name to give proper credit) that first mentions this scientific “fact.” He then continued to describe being an infant, a child, a teenager, a young adult, a middle age adult, and finally a senior citizen. He then pointed out, that while his body had gone through these many changes, there was a continuity in his memory or awareness of life. There is something to meditate on.

What do you think?

